Section 3 – Six formes de don

Vous trouverez dans cette section des renseignements pratiques sur les six formes de don les plus courantes au Canada et les plus efficaces.

Cela dit, en quoi consiste exactement un don ? À lire…

Définition du don

Bien qu’on y retrouve de nombreuses références au don de bienfaisance, la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu ne définit pas pour autant le don. L’Agence du revenu du Canada décrit le don comme « un transfert volontaire de biens sans contrepartie de valeur pour le donateur ».

« volontaire »

Par « volontaire », on entend que le choix repose entièrement entre les mains du donateur. Par exemple, si le prix d’un concours est un don de 500 $ à un organisme de bienfaisance, la personne gagnante n’aura pas droit à un reçu fiscal parce qu’elle n’a pas choisi de faire un don, même si elle peut en désigner le bénéficiaire.

« transfert de biens »

Le don doit sous-tendre le transfert absolu des biens à l’organisme caritatif. Face à la popularité croissante des fonds orientés par le donateur*, au Canada comme aux États-Unis, les autorités fiscales se sont interrogées sur la nature du transfert de biens en cause. Si, par exemple, un donateur continue de prendre des décisions de placement sans que la décision finale ne revienne à l’organisme de bienfaisance, il y a lieu de se demander si cet organisme est véritablement propriétaire des fonds.

« contrepartie de valeur »

En général, on désigne ainsi un avantage pour le donateur supérieur à la valeur du don. Par exemple, dans le cas d’un gala de bienfaisance, le reçu fiscal doit correspondre au prix du billet moins la contrepartie : la valeur du repas, des prix, du divertissement. Si l’ARC ne peut prouver que la contrepartie avantage plus le donateur que l’organisme (supérieure à 80 % de la valeur du don), le reçu peut être refusé et, dans certains cas, considéré comme un abri fiscal non enregistré, ce qui peut entraîner pour l’organisme la perte de son statut d’organisme de bienfaisance.

Incidence fiscale du don de bienfaisance

Au Canada, le taux d’imposition combiné maximal pour un revenu supérieur à 126 264 $ varie de 39 % (Alberta) à 48,25 % (Québec). Le crédit d’impôt lié aux dons de bienfaisance est de 15 % pour la première tranche de 200 $ et du taux d’imposition individuel pour toute somme supérieur à 200 $, à concurrence de 75 % du revenu annuel du donateur.

Si le don prend la forme d’un bien en immobilisation, le donateur est soumis à un impôt de 50 % sur le gain en capital, sauf s’il s’agit de titres cotés en bourse, d’un bien culturel attesté, d’un terrain à valeur écologique et d’une résidence principale. Pour ce genre de don, le gain en capital n’est pas imposé.

Les exemples du Guide Internet pour les conseillers se fondent sur un taux hypothétique de 45 %. Tout crédit d’impôt non utilisé peut être reporté pendant cinq ans.

Pour maximiser son crédit d’impôt, un contribuable peut réclamer un crédit d’impôt pour des dons de bienfaisance effectués par son conjoint (y compris de fait).

Section 3 – Six Gift Options for Canadian Donors

This section provides practical information about six common and effective gift options for Canadian donors, including:

But what constitutes a gift? Read on…

Defining a gift

The Income Tax Act, while having many references to charitable gifts, does not provide a definition of a gift. The Canada Revenue Agency defines a gift as “a voluntary transfer of property without valuable consideration to the donor”.

“voluntary”

The choice to make the gift must rest solely with the donor in order for it to be considered voluntary. For example, if a contest prize was a gift of $500 to a charity of the winner’s choosing, while they may select the recipient of the gift they would not be eligible for a receipt as they did not choose to make the gift. More information on the definition of a gift and tax credits can be found on the Canada Revenue Agency site.

“transfer of property”

The gift must involve an absolute transfer of property to the charity. As donor advised funds* have become increasingly popular in Canada and the United States over the last few years there has been scrutiny by tax officials with respect to whether these constitute a transfer of property. In particular if the donor continues to make investment decisions as well as distribution decisions without the recipient charity appearing to have the final say it may be debatable whether the charity has ownership.

“valuable consideration”

In general this refers to the gift causing a benefit to the donor greater than the value of the donation receipt. Examples might include tickets to charity galas, where the value of the dinner, prizes, entertainment, the consideration, must be deducted from the price of the ticket in order to obtain the value of the donation receipt. Where CRA finds proof that the consideration to be significant to the donor (greater than 80% of the value of the gift) than to the charity, a receipt is disallowed and in some cases may be identified as unregistered tax shelters and charities have been deregistered.

Tax Implications of Charitable Giving

Canada’s maximum combined tax rates for incomes greater than $126,264 range from 39% (Alberta) to 48.25% (Quebec). The donation tax credit available for charitable gifts is 15% on the first $200 and the individual’s tax rate those gift amounts above $200 and up to a maximum of 75% of the donor’s annual income. Visit the CRA website for more information on on tax calculations and tax rates by province.

CRA also provides a charitable donation tax calculator.

If a gift is made of capital property the donor would be subject to tax on 50% of the capital gains. The exceptions to this rule are for gifts of publicly listed securities, certified cultural property, ecologically sensitive land, and principal residences. In the case of any of these gifts none of the capital gains is taxable.

The examples given in the Professional Advisors eResource website assume a rate of 45% for illustrative purposes. Any unused tax credits can be carried forward for up to five years.

An individual can claim the donation tax credit for gifts made by their spouse or common-law partner in order to maximize the tax credit.